Charity

I am sharing this to offer you a fun way to generate some funds for your favorite charity.

My workplace has Charity Fridays. Every Friday, in order to wear jeans to work, staff members donate $2 and attorneys donate $4 for the designated charity.

This past Friday, my charity was NewHouse, a domestic violence shelter that offers assistance to women in need by offering emergency shelter and mental health services for them and their children.

Here’s my tweak for my Charity Friday: A donation of $5 would purchase an entry in a raffle to win one of my handknit shawls. This is a fun way to generate donations. I chose to offer a shawl from the first draft of the design process that ultimately resulted in my Sweet Hearts shawlette pattern.

ccr1

Being the first draft, this shawl is one-of-a-kind because I broke the “pattern mold” after making it. I chose this particular shawl for the raffle because it was knit with JulieSpins MCN Ultra in colorway Pinot. This lovely yarn is a Merino/cashmere blend—ultra soft, light, yet warm, handknit by the designer; something that would be of interest to those entering the raffle.

Entries were received until 2:30pm, at which time I assigned entry numbers to each person who donated $5 or more. Those who donated $20 received 4 entries. Those who donated $50 received 10 entries. I wrote the numbers on the donation sheet next to each person’s name.

Then, I used the Random Number Generator and specified I only wanted one number selected randomly from all numbers starting with the number 1 and ending with number 52, then clicked the “Get numbers” button.

rng

The lucky number was 23 who happened to be an attorney who wasn’t in the office, but later called in when he received the email announcing his win. He was so delighted and expects to gift the shawl at Christmas. Donations totaled $321 for NewHouse!

Some things to note:

  • My Charity Friday was originally set in the summer. I requested it be delayed until the weather cooled down to increase the chances of my giveaway garnering more interest.
  • Some folks just donated but didn’t want to win the shawl so that was indicated on the donations list increasing the chances for others who wanted to receive the shawl if their number was drawn.
  • Because of the interest and fun this raffle generated, I may consider entering two shawls with the first number drawn getting to choose first.

I hope this gives you an idea for a fun way to generate some funds for your charity and a quick way for the winner to gain a beautiful handmade gift!

signature

 

3 comments

Leave a Reply

