Albuquerque Sunset Sample Knit

Jennifer at Miss Babs messaged me a little over a week ago, asking if I’d be interested in knitting up Casapinka‘s Albuquerque Sunset shawl for a sample to take with them to trade shows.

Of course, I would! The yarn arrived and I photographed them and wound them up to start.

image

 

They are Miss Babs Yummy 2-ply in Quicksilver and Deep Sea Jellyfish. I love this combo!

So, here are the results!

image

image

image

image

Lovely!

image

image

image

image

And off it goes to Tennessee where it will enjoy the traveling life! 🙂

Perhaps I’ll have a sewing project to blog about next time . . .

signature

 

 

14 thoughts on “Albuquerque Sunset Sample Knit

  1. Since I actually live in Albuquerque I was super intrigued by this pattern almost exclusively because of the name xD I feel like we don’t get much recognition out in the world outside of Bugs Bunny references and that one Weird Al song. The yarn is gorgeous but is the color change super frequent? I always get a little frustrated at having to switch yarn every row or so, I prefer just sort of working straight through something. But if it’s pretty enough I usually let myself be tempted into doing it anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love the Albuquerque references in Bugs Bunny cartoons and that reference in Weird Al’s song, LOL! Actually, you start in the gray color, knit that for a while, introduce the pink color and alternate every other row for the color changes but don’t cut the yarn until the gray is done at the end. So there will only be 4 ends total to weave in after all is done. The pattern is intuitive once you see what is happening with the little loops on the right side. I pretty much went with the flow and made sure before I started the lace that I had the right stitch count. Will be updating my Ravelry notes shortly with tips!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Okay, that doesn’t seem too bad at all. I really don’t enjoy weaving in a million loose ends (I always worry if I’ve left a big enough tail of yarn to even do so or feel like the tail is too big and I’m just throwing away yarn at this point, so to speak) so just carrying the color up onto the next row is preferable.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

