Tie-Dyed T-Shirt Dress

I don’t think I’m the only one who enjoys wearing something so much that it eventually disintegrates.

I’m talking about a t-shirt dress that I got MANY years ago at Old Navy. It was super soft 100% cotton and was a stretchy knit. Super comfy to wear around the house and lightweight for when the weather makes the a/c have to work extra hard to keep it cool inside.

Years ago, after I wore out the old one, I found a size Small on eBay. (The original was size Medium.) I purchased it anyway for about 6 bucks, but the fit hasn’t always been as comfortable as the original. So, I decided to make one, but with a requirement that it be 100% serger-friendly. JoAnn Fabrics had the perfect 100% cotton knit fabric for the job!

After surfing the web, I found many videos on how to use a ready-to-wear clothing item as a template to make a sewing pattern. I neglected to take photos of the steps since this was my first time and it takes me more concentration, but I’ll do that next time.

One of the videos instructed to cut the clothing item apart (others show you how to do it without cutting the item apart in case you still want to wear it). Since this was threadbare and had a bleach hole at the bottom, I just cut it into two pieces.

I then folded each piece in half lengthwise and placed on brown wrapping paper and traced around them with a half-inch selvedge edge, then cut the patterns out.

I used my handy-dandy pattern weights to weigh down the paper pattern onto the fabric when I used my rotary cutter to cut the pieces out. Using the pattern weights kept me from having to pin all the way around the pattern, plus it prevented damage to the paper pattern so I can use it over and over.

All I had left was to sew the top shoulders and the sides with my serger, press down the seams, and I was done!

 

I did consider adding bias tape binding with the same fabric, but then I came to my senses and told myself not to bother. I wasn’t going to wear this outside my home and why mess with it when knit fabric doesn’t fray? I kinda liked the casual curling of the edges.

I did do one thing after trying it on a couple of times. I cut the points off the bottom “hem” which made it look better, I think.

So it turned out pretty well, plus, it looks good from either side, so if I pop it on inside-out (which happens more often than not for comfort reasons), then it doesn’t look bad at all.

I’ll be making another one because I purchased a couple yards each of this same fabric in hot pink, purple and orange. Shouldn’t take me long and I may get creative with my serger thread colors!

Until next time!

signature

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Tie-Dyed T-Shirt Dress

Leave a Reply

