I’m glad I knit fast

A classic example of how knitting fast saved me!

I learned recently from Casapinka that I have the honor of being a sample knitter for Miss Babs Hand Dyed Yarns and Fibers!

Miss Babs wanted a sample of Black to the Fuchsia by Casapinka knitted up to take with her to a trade show and needed it by February 4th.  She shipped the yarn to me on January 13th via USPS Priority Mail. It appeared, by the online tracking, that the yarn would be in my hands in two days, January 15th. Perfect!

On January 15th, I checked tracking and the package was in Kansas City, Kansas, apparently a nearby hub receiving the yarn from Miss Babs who is in Tennessee.

On January 16th, I noticed no change in status with no package in sight. Hmmm . . .

On Sunday, January 17th, I learned why the package had not arrived–it took a side trip to Springfield, Missouri! Great . . . I wonder when I’ll get the yarn to knit this 800+ yard shawl??? I started to feel a bit anxious.

So, I contacted Miss Babs to let her know that I wasn’t shirking . . . I just hadn’t received the yarn yet. We made alternate plans just in case.

On Monday, January 18th, the yarn appeared to be back on its way to me. However, it was the Martin Luther King holiday, so no mail was being delivered that day.

On Tuesday, January 19th, the tracking hadn’t changed–was still in Springfield, Missouri and headed my way.

On Wednesday, January 20th, a week after it was shipped from Tennessee, it arrived!

Of course, in order to meet the original February 4th deadline, that left me with about two weeks to knit the shawl, block it, photograph it and ship it to Miss Babs! Eeek!!! (Keep in mind, I work a full time day job and have other obligations, so it left me with weekday evenings and weekends to work on it!)

Needless to say, I was a bit stressed. Luckily, since I had previously test knit this very same pattern last month, I was very familiar with it and managed to crank out a beautiful shawl for Miss Babs in TEN DAYS. I got it back in the mail to her on Saturday, January 30th, with EXPECTED delivery on Tuesday, February 2nd. Whew! That was close!

Of course, for some reason, the package left our sort facility in Kansas City, Kansas and delivered in Rochester, NY on February 1st. I’m no expert on USPS logistics, but it seems to me that the shortest distance between Kansas and Tennessee definitely doesn’t include New York. Sigh.

So, it lingered in the great state of New York for a day or so before delivering to Knoxville, TN on February 3rd and finally ended up in Miss Babs’ post office box in Mountain City, TN on February 4th, her deadline. Good grief! So much for “priority” mail!

But Helen (Miss Babs) loved the shawl!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

Here it is!

01020304

Obviously, I’m quite pleased with how lovely this turned out! Miss Babs’ yarn is a pleasure to work with and Casapinka’s design really highlights the beauty of Miss Babs’ vibrant colors!

A question for you: Have you had to create something that had to be completed in a short time frame that you were sweating bullets to get it done? Please share!

Until next time!

signature

17 thoughts on “I’m glad I knit fast

  1. It turned out very nice. And yes, I’ve knitted on commission for a silent auction before, and only had a weekend to do it. Fortunately, it was small enough that I was able to block it in my dehydrator. It was still nerve-wracking, though.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: A Knitter With a Plan | alexand knits

Leave a Reply

