Last Hat of the Year

I received this festive yarn in a swap,

image.jpg

The Verdant Gryphon Odyssey in colorway Psychedelic Peacock. It’s 100% Merino in a bulky weight.

It was so wild, I decided to make the Aspen Ice Hat by Liat Gat of KnitFreedom.

Psychedelic Peacock Hat

image

Cute, huh?

image

And I could use my handy dandy Pom Pom maker again!

image.jpeg


 

2015 in Review

This year has been interesting, to say the least. I entered the blogosphere in July and have enjoyed the experience reaching out to others with similar interests and enjoying what others post.

I really appreciate everyone’s kindness here in WordPress and my friends, old and new, on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. It’s nice to get some feedback on my creative works. Thank you all for the wonderful support!

I’ve met some wonderful ladies in the industry while assisting them with their businesses. Particularly noteworthy:

Lisa Barnes of LMB Designs: Lisa is a knitting teacher and designer extraordinaire in the Hoboken/NYC area.

Bronnie of Casapinka: Bronnie is a brilliant knitwear designer who specializes in colorwork designs.

And most recently, Liz Gipson of Yarnworker: Liz is a weaver, more specifically, a rigid heddle weaver, writer, instructor, and anything else she sets her mind to.

These ladies have taught me so much about their piece of the fiber world and I’m grateful for having met them and glad I can help them be successful in what they do!

Looking at this past year, it’s been interesting. I took up weaving and have enjoyed it, even though I haven’t had time to do much. And I published my first pattern, Bison Amid the Daisies Cowl!

My Ravelry projects page for 2015 indicates that I have knitted, crocheted or wove 80 projects of which 75 were finished, 1 hibernating, 3 frogged, and 1 in progress.

WordPress creates a cool little annual report with my blog statistics that I can share. Kinda interesting tidbits and stats, if you’re so inclined.

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2015 annual report for this blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

A San Francisco cable car holds 60 people. This blog was viewed about 2,200 times in 2015. If it were a cable car, it would take about 37 trips to carry that many people.

Click here to see the complete report.


 

I look forward to these in 2016:

Brioche knitting class at the Yarn Shop and More in January. Brioche is one of those things I just didn’t want to have to learn via online instruction. I felt it was time to learn in a class environment while getting to know some of the local instructors. Wish me luck!

Knitting in the Heartland (KitH) in April! My buddy, Ann, is coming up from Florida to experience the Midwest for the first time. Hubby and I plan on taking her around to the best Kansas City BBQ places (Jack Stack and Joe’s KC), plying her with cupcakes, chocolates and bakery goodies, and taking her on a whirlwind tour of four local yarn shops in addition to attending Knitting in the Heartland where we’ll be taking an Amigurumi class and meeting Stephanie Pearl-McPhee at the keynote!

Better photography! With my Christmas money this year, I purchased some inexpensive studio lighting and a background muslin to improve the quality of my photos. I’m looking forward to improving the quality of my iPhone photography in the coming year, LOL!

Best wishes to all of you for a safe, happy and successful 2016! 

signature

4 comments

  1. I loved reading your goals. I’ve been a bit lax about mine so it’s inspiring to read this. We can all work to improve at something – no matter how little! I’m so glad we met through Ravelry and I feel so lucky to have your input and knitting expertise in Casapinka-land!

    Liked by 1 person

    • If there was ever a theme park to visit, Casapinka-land would be where I’d wanna go! It’s been fun test-knitting and getting to know you this year! Your designs are so beautiful and wonderfully colorful! Keep them coming! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

