Argent Shawl Finally Finished!

I received a generous birthday gift from Ann, a beautiful skein of Julie Spins MCN 560.

image_medium2 (1)

The colorway is Cottage Garden. Isn’t it just lovely?

image_medium2

This light fingering weight yarn is 80% Merino wool, 10% Cashmere, 10% Nylon and 560 yards (hence the name “MCN 560”).

I was looking for just the right project for this special yarn. It looked like it would make a fabulous crocheted Festival Shawl by Lyn Robinson:

image_medium2

It looked good, but I really felt it would look better with a less variegated yarn to bring out the lace. So I frogged it.

After some more searching, I realized I had Hunter Hammersen’s e-book of beautiful shawl patterns, Curls. I decided this yarn would look fabulous as the Argent shawl.

No regrets.

Cottage Garden Argent Shawl

3

I’m not typically a fan of lace (takes too much concentration), but when it’s done, it looks impressive.

4

9

1

However, I put this on hold several times over the course of four months due to test knitting, car trips (car knitting usually doesn’t involve lace due to the complexity or fiddliness of the pattern) and procrastination due to the size (because I chose to knit a lace shawl with 560 yards!). I finally finished it because a Raveler wanted to swap for it. Thank goodness, else it may have taken me several months longer to finish it!

11

10

So it was completed in a week and shipped to its new home!

signature

8 comments

Leave a Reply

