Isabelita Shawl Test

Another test knit for Casapinka!

This one is Isabelita. It’s a crescent shaped shawl made up of two colors. The main color is solid and the contrast color can either be a solid or a variegated. For this project, the main color is Northbound Knitting Merino Fingering Singles in colorway Gothic.

nbk_medium

And the contrast color is Madelinetosh Tosh Merino Light in colorway Firewood.

malabrigo_medium

This was an easy knit and a great pattern by the color guru, Casapinka. I loved how the Firewood colorway picked up the purple in the Northbound Knitting main color.

I did hit some snags along the way. They were completely unrelated to the pattern — just me and some choices I made.

Choice #1

As I was winding the hank of Madelinetosh Tosh Merino Light into a center pull ball, I happily spaced off until the yarn swift caught the yarn on one of the arms and the yarn jerked and tightened on itself on the ball winder. At that point I should’ve unwound the yarn on the ball winder a bit to release that tension. This is particularly important working with a singles yarn since it’ll easily felt onto itself. I later discovered a nice tangle that I had to deal with for a majority of my time working with the contrast color. Lovely. When I finally got tired of working around the blob of yarn, I pulled it out and spent two unproductive nights untangling a bit, knitting, untangling, knitting, untangling. Ugh! I was glad to make my way past that and continue knitting in a less fiddly manner.

Choice #2

The pattern called for a US 6 needle. Since I have a tendency to knit fairly loosely, because the singles of mainly the Northbound Knitting yarn was pretty thin in spots, and I wanted to show off the pretty stitches without being too “airy”, I stepped down to a US 5 needle. That was all fine and dandy until I got to row 32 of the 37 final rows for the body of the shawl. Unfortunately, I had forgotten an important element — smaller needle with thinner yarn = more stitches per inch, therefore requiring more yarn. Duh! So I ran out of main color about 5 rows early. The main color was approximately 400 yds in a skein, so I would recommend more yardage if you go down a needle size. However, no worries . . .

image_medium2

. . . because this pattern was really forgiving, I just moved on to the contrasting color border rows. Details on how I transitioned to the border rows is on my project page in Ravelry.

IMG_2524

Choice #3

I started the border rows, thankful that I had made it this far after the first two choices, and happily knit along. But when I was doing row 2 of the two row border, I noticed I had gotten off kilter on row 1. So . . . I tinked back after finding my error and started over again. Once I got the first row corrected, things went much smoother. Sure, after finishing row 1, I could’ve looked back to make sure I knit that correctly before proceeding to row 2, but that would’ve taken time . . . and . . . that . . . saved . . . me . . . yeah, right. Haste makes waste.

So, the results are in and I am quite pleased with how Isabelita turned out!

IMG_2534

FullSizeRender (003)

FullSizeRender (2)

FullSizeRender (00B)

Isabelita!

Again, another awesome, colorful pattern by Casapinka!

(And, it is up for swap on Ravelry!)

OSKnits on white

6 comments

Leave a Reply

