Yarn Shop and More

This weekend, I had some free time to visit one of my favorite yarn shops in Overland Park, Kansas, Yarn Shop and More.

IMG_4042

Lots of knitted samples and nice displays. Cozy, yet roomy enough for events with lots of yarns to choose from. Upon entering the shop, a table of Malabrigo Rios and Mora welcome you! The teal blue poncho on the left is made with 4 skeins of Rios.

IMG_4060

Mora is Malabrigo’s new 100% silk, 4-ply fingering weight yarn in a 50 gram hank.

IMG_4049

The yarn at Yarn Shop and More is separated by fiber with most of the animal fibers along the right and left walls of the store. As you can see, the yarn is separated by color.

IMG_4047

The inside wall coming back has the red, orange and purples.

IMG_4048

The check out area is the home for shawl sticks/pins, yarn bowls, project bags, Eucalan, candy (!), the Dream in Color Club yarn, and needles behind the counter.

IMG_4044

The opposite wall has the rest of the animal fiber yarns in neutral colors.

IMG_4043

The front of the shop displays the plant fiber, novelty and other yarns, also by color. Books and samples are here as well.

IMG_4058

IMG_4056

There’s a large work table where knitting and crochet lessons are taught and where folks can knit and chat with the helpful staff. Notice there’s a Cricket loom with project started!

IMG_4046

Near the back, a center section houses sock yarns. My favorites are all there: Malabrigo, Zen Yarn Garden and Dream in Color Smooshy with Cashmere.

IMG_4050

Here’s the other side of that section.

IMG_4053

A section of specialty yarns and notions:

IMG_4054

And in the back room, baby yarns, patterns and books.

IMG_4051

On the other side of the back room are the clearance yarns, patterns and other odds and ends.

IMG_4052

On the clearance section, I found an extra skein of Plymouth Yarn Galway Chunky in Black for a chunky version of hubby’s Balaclava. I also found two balls of Cascade Yarns Longwood in Red for a future hat and cowl for him.

IMG_4080

And, of course, I couldn’t resist a skein of Zen Yarn Garden Serenity 20 in one-of-a-kind (OOAK) colorway Stardust for myself. Who knows what it may become?

Stay tuned!

signature

One comment

  1. Gahhh, I’m so jealous! Where I live we have one specialty yarn shop and it is itty bitty! I guess we had another one at some point but they’ve all been going out of business. My options are chain craft stores or the internet. I guess it assists in keeping me from buying super fancy and expensive yarn since I don’t like buying yarn I haven’t felt before (sounds kind of dirty, huh?) Treasure your yarn stores for my sake!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

