Liebster Award (again)!

Thank you, Midnight Knitter, for the nomination for the Liebster Award!

The Liebster Award allows the blogger with fewer than 200 followers to get more exposure to others and help other bloggers with a small following gain some attention.

As an award winner you must:

  1. Acknowledge and accept the Liebster Award by leaving a comment on the blog where you were nominated.
  2. Copy and paste the Liebster Award medal (logo) onto your own blog.
  3. Link back to the blogger who awarded you and give thanks.
  4. Answer the questions put to you by the person who nominated you. This is a great way to get to know the people behind the blogs. The number of questions have vary from 5 to 11 depending on who is asking.
  5. On your blog nominate and link to your 5 favourite blogs (or more) that you enjoy but have a small readership (the rules have varied from less than 200 to less than 3000 readers). It could be that they have only been blogging for a short time or have a niche interest but are worthy of gaining more attention in the wider blogging world.  That means the blogs of large, commercial enterprises are not eligible for nomination; nor are blogs that are well publicised in a variety of media and established with tens of thousands of followers.
  6. List your questions for your Liebster Award nominees on your blog.
  7. Inform your nominees by leaving a comment on their blogs.

liebster1

Here are my answers to the 5 applicable questions posed to me:

1.  What does your work (crafting) area look like? Pictures, please!!  Here ya go! This is where the creativity occurs!

image

On the little armrest table is my iPad with keyboard. I use the iPad with the KnitCompanion app that I use for ALL of my patterns. I highly recommend it. And there’s a Ravelry group dedicated to it. Well worth the money.

2.  What is your favorite (handmade) gift that you have received from somebody else? When I was a child, I used to attend church with another family whose mom was very good at sewing and made all her kids’ clothes. She made me a cotton dress that was white with red floral designs on it. It had a sash that was attached and tied in the back. It was SOOOO COMFORTABLE. It was my most favorite piece of clothing and I wore it to death. It’s interesting to see my predilection for loving cotton clothes started so early in life.

3.  Where do you get your best ideas?  If not for Ravelry, my knitting would never have developed to be what it is today. Ravelry allows me to search by yarn, weight of yarn, yardage, etc.

4.  Where do your creative energies go? What craft or activity is the most important to you? My knitting is where I do most of my creative stuff. I’ve recently picked up weaving which takes care of the balance of my creativity because it can help me use up yarn that I don’t like to knit with or gives me something a bit different to do and give my arm a rest. My weaving so far has been just plain weave with no pattern and that’s been freeing.

5.  Have your creative hobbies changed over the years or do you stick to the same ones? In my childhood, I learned crochet and knitting from my grandmother. Since she didn’t use the softest yarn (and wasn’t necessarily the best teacher), I moved on to other things, mostly needlework. I did a lot of crewel, needlepoint, embroidery, cross stitch and counted cross stitch. I also made some hooked rugs and even painted by numbers on velvet! I had a brief stint of sewing in junior high, but it didn’t rock my boat. Then I picked up photography and actually did that professionally for a while in high school and college (weddings, portraits, that kind of thing). I also took up being an editor for a newsletter and webmaster of a website or two. After all that, I finally settled down in my late 40s, picked up crocheting, and subsequently, knitting. Now adding weaving to the mix. So I suppose my creative hobbies will change over time. I never can tell what I could be doing in a year. 🙂

List of my nominees:

  1. EmpressFibres
  2. Art. Craft. Life.
  3. Suzy Sells Sea Shells
  4. Felting Spinning Weaving
  5. Bayou-Mama

Questions for my nominees:

  1. What is your favorite handmade gift received from someone else?
  2. Please post here a photo of your creative or favorite space. (If you’d prefer, please describe that place.)
  3. Is there something you are picky about? What is it?
  4. Who has influenced you recently in your creativity and how?
  5. Have you ever considered teaching?

Have fun and spread the joy!

OSKnits on white

6 thoughts on “Liebster Award (again)!

Leave a Reply

