Third Time’s a Charm!

Have you ever had one of those really pretty skeins of yarn that you just HAD to have and then couldn’t figure out what the heck to make with it because it’s ridiculously variegated?

Yeah, that’s me all over.

Here’s a prime example of said yarn:

image

Isn’t it so colorful and pretty?

It’s Madelinetosh Tosh Sock in colorway Swimming Pool. It was one of those skeins of yarn that when I saw it at Knitorious, I kept having to circle back to admire again. It called to me. Yarn-y folks know that call.

image

This yarn was such a pain to figure out what to knit it into.

At first, I thought I’d combine it with another close colorway, Rhubarb:

image

I started to make the Stitch Sampler Shawl . . .

image

. . . but it looked VERY circus-y. Ugh! Frogged that. So the Rhubarb colorway ended up being a (previously blogged-about) Rhubarb Hitchhiker.

IMG_2898

I’m happy to say that it has since been adopted.

So, next I tried to use the Swimming Pool colorway as a test knit for my fave designer, Casapinka. She was working on a shawl pattern and I was knitting it to see what happens when someone (other than the designer) knits from the written instructions.

Then things got busy for the both of us and I set it aside.

When I picked it back up again, I just didn’t like the way it was turning out simply because the colors were pooling up unattractively:

image

Gads! It was awful! No wonder Casapinka didn’t want to finish it! :b

So, I resorted to the Hitchhiker by Martina Behm again:

Hitchhiker’s Holiday

image

There ya go. MUCH better!

image

As you can see, there is still a lot of pooling, but it’s spread out a bit better with the way the pattern is knit up.

image

Sure, I could’ve used this yarn as a contrasting color in a two-skein shawl or something, but I just wanted to make it into something and be DONE with it!

image

So, finally, third time’s a charm. I’m pleased with how it turned out and I’m hoping someone will love it enough to give it a home. It has been added to my swap page (for registered Ravelry members only).

Until next time . . .

OSKnits on white

11 comments

  1. Lol. Why does this sound so much like me. Some yarns are just so pretty you have to have them, and then you don’t know what to knit with it. Some work, and some just don’t. I have found shorter rows works better, like socks, scarfs and hats. But I really must get the Hitchhiker, it is absolutely perfect for these yarns.
    Thanks for a great post, loved it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Hitchhiker is wonderful! Both your example, and as a project generally. And I totally do the variegated yarn thing. I’m trying *really* hard not to, because my rational brain knows that I am much happier wearing solids or tonals (especially since I tend to focus on sweaters, which can be really overwhelming in variegated yarns). But my inner frustrated painter-type sees the variegated yarns and goes, “Ooh, COLORS!” I have a sweater quantity of highly variegated green-blue-purple yarn that I adore, but is sitting waiting for its third project.

    Recently I saw people recommending this pattern as designed for the highly variegated yarns: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/painted; also Woolly Wormhead’s recent book of hats, Hand Painted Toppers, has lots of good options.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You know, that test knit used similar stitches to the Painted shawl you provided a link to and I ve tried knitting Painted but it just isnt as good as the Hitchhiker which is odd because youd think it would really break up the variegation with the shape and stitch. Oh well. I will soon post another great pattern after its done. I know others who also knit for themselves and they knit solids and neutrals. Its obvious I dont do that, LOL! Im lucky folks like my colorful stuff like so I can swap for more yarns that Ive never seen before! I will definitely check out the Wooly Wormhead book! Thanks! Keep on keepin on!

      Like

Leave a Reply

