Bonus Liebster Award!

liebsteraward

This one has pretty flowers!

So I have new questions to answer and new nominees! Thank you, Katherine Riley of Cinquante Feuilles, for nominating me!

Here’s how the award works:

  1. Make a post thanking and linking the person who nominated you.
    Include the Liebster Award sticker in the post too.
  2. Nominate 5 -10 other bloggers who you feel are worthy of this award. Let them know they have been nominated by commenting on one of their posts. You can also nominate the person who nominated you.
  3. Ensure all of these bloggers have fewer than 200 followers.
  4. Answer the eleven questions asked to you by the person who nominated you, and make eleven questions of your own for your nominees or you may use the same questions.
  5. Lastly, COPY these rules in your post.

Questions for me to answer: 

  1. Cat or dog person? Dog person only because there are dogs that I’m not allergic to, although most of them I am allergic to because of shedding. I’ve had Westies most recently, but no longer. 😦  I’d love to have a cat, but due to my allergies to the protein in their spit, I can’t have any. If I could, I’d love a Russian Blue with a chubby little fur face. But he would also have to be an Internet sensation. My buddy, Chris, told me that’s what I apparently want so I can quit my job and make money off my famous silly cat. Guess I’ll have to keep my day job.
  2. Favorite book? Does my Macbook count? I used to read a lot before the Internet. I still read books on my phone when I’m bored, but my attention span has gotten short with little blips of information posted to Facebook, WordPress, etc. And, with pictures! I love pictures!
  3. Favorite meal of the day? Since I don’t eat breakfast (unless you count eating out of a Costco-sized bag of Cheez-Its, not all at one time), I’d have to say lunch. It’s a great break from work and usually the one balanced meal I have during the day since sometimes, when hubby’s at work when I get home, I will eat an ice cream sandwich and a Rice Krispy treat for dinner. That’s probably the only benefit of being a grown-up, except driving a car.
  4. What do you do for a living? Or, what is your dream job? I’m a paralegal during the day. It’s a good job, but if I had my druthers, I’d be working (and making big bucks) in a creative job where I could make stuff. Actually, kind of working half a dream job by being a virtual assistant (assisting via the Internet, not half-*ssed assisting) for LMB Designs, doing website/newsletter work with the most fun part being knitting samples!
  5. Do you have a hidden talent? Sadly, I haven’t hidden any of my talents which may have been a mistake in some respects. I used to carry a tune pretty well. But I gave that up many years ago. And no karaoke for me, either. Terrible stage fright.
  6. Coffee or tea? Tea. I used to love coffee, but it didn’t love me. So I now enjoy tea. I tend to like fruity black tea, but will also enjoy Green, White and Red Chinese teas.
  7. Favorite college course? Photography, probably. After getting assignments, we were turned loose to photograph stuff for our assignments. I really liked the freedom and creative choice I had in that class.
    But the one class that I really learned a lot from was Aging in America. It was an Interdisciplinary Honors class where one of the learning experiences was to teach us what it feels like to be in a nursing home. (That’s what they called it then, assisted living was not a phrase coined yet, so that’s the term I’m using here.) Our class was split into two groups. Half of the students were nursing home residents, and the other half were nursing home workers. The residents had notes stuck to their foreheads so they couldn’t see what was written on them. The notes indicated what affliction they had: forgetfulness, hard of hearing, argumentative, etc. So, due to the label, the nursing home workers would treat the residents according to the each resident’s issue. It really gave me an understanding of an individual’s perception of oneself and the perception of others towards him/her. This stuck with me and is applicable not only to a nursing home situation, but also to everyday interactions I have with others. I found it very helpful.
  8. Favorite musician? Depends on my mood. At any given moment, I could be listening to Maroon 5, Lady Gaga, Mettalica, Guns n Roses or David Gilmour. I’ve been listening to Lady Gaga Radio on Pandora while I’m knitting. Makes me knit faster.
  9. Favorite food? Kona crusted bone-in rib eyes from The Capital Grille, slab of ribs from Pappy’s in St. Louis, or anything my darling hubby makes for me, especially on the grill. He’s the Grill Master.
  10. Why did you start blogging? I felt there was more of a story to tell with my projects than just posting them to Facebook or Ravelry. I also felt I had a few tips to share on occasion and didn’t have a good way to do that. And there are those occasions where I’d just like to write about something totally unrelated to knitting/weaving/crocheting. So, blog posting was the natural way to go about it. I like blogging because there are no restrictions on number of words and photos can be posted, too. Plus, I have found some really cool bloggers here!
  11. Favorite sweet treat? Haagen Dazs chocolate straight out of the carton.

My nominees:

  1. This Knitted Life
  2. Knit Me For a Loop
  3. Duck and Cover
  4. A Crochet Journey
  5. Looming Jane
  6. Five Things I’ve Learned About…
  7. D-Stashed
  8. Marissa Made It
  9. Girl Meets Crafts
  10. Stories of Objects

To my nominees I ask: 

  1. Clowns. Funny or Scary?
  2. Do you listen to music when you’re creating? If so, what/who?
  3. Cars. Point A to Point B or a reflection of your personality?
  4. If you won the lottery, aside from savings, what would you buy first for yourself?
  5. Do you have a hidden talent?
  6. PC or Mac?
  7. Favorite creative activity?
  8. Favorite movie/tv program to binge watch?
  9. Favorite childhood memory?
  10. Why did you start blogging?
  11. Describe the place where you perform most of your creative work?

Thanks for participating in this fun way to introduce new bloggers to the blogosphere!

OSKnits on white

7 thoughts on “Bonus Liebster Award!

  1. Thank you for the nomination! And what a good way to recommend blogs 🙂 I’ve already followed all those on your list. I do keep meaning to have a good wordpress trawl for new blogs to follow. That can be my challenge for tomorrow so I can then make my nominations.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

